Offering Christ, Community, and Compassion. In this congregation of the Body of Christ, we celebrate and share God's grace through worship ministry, fellowship, mission, Christian education, and service.
To live as Disciples of Christ. We accept God's call to know, experience, and share God's transforming love.
Passionately put God first every day in all that we do
Faithfully live new lives in Christ
Boldly share the Gospel
Eagerly serve others
Hayes Barton United Methodist Church was established on December 6, 1936. The Reverend Leon Russell was our first pastor. One hundred-seven charter members originally assembled in the old Hayes Barton School (now Underwood Elementary). In December of 1937, a building site for the new church was purchased at the corner of Fairview Road and Stone Street for $3,500. Formal opening of the new church building occurred on Sunday, September 10, 1939.
In 1955, ground was broken for a larger sanctuary which would replace the “little church in the pines.” This is our current place of worship which underwent a total renovation in 2009.
It was over 80 years ago that the original charter members joined together to lay a foundation for a place of worship and service to God. Today, we are a congregation of over 3,000 members, and we continue to grow each year in what is a community of faithful people and a place where one can be shaped, filled, and poured out to live as disciples of Christ.